Summer of Me

Another The Summer of Me Review

somThis one is from Booklist:

“Strong female characters, charming settings, and sweet rather than salacious romance add up to an entertaining and uplifting inspirational read as Destiny learns that mistakes are not the end of the world, and forgiveness is the beginning of freedom. For fans of Beverly Jenkins, Jane Green or Kendra Norman-Bellamy.”

Read the full review HERE.

Thanks, Booklist!


Reviews: The Summer of Me

somIn case you missed The Summer of Me blog tour in April, here are some of the reviews:

5 Minutes for Books

Angela Benson’s characters are pretty real. Their friendships are fun and supportive. Even when things get heavy, the tone remains light, which made this an easy, enjoyable read.

Stranded in Chaos

I flew through this book over the course of one day . . . The book is lighthearted and fun, it’s about female empowerment and ultimately taking care of yourself to be better for other people, something all of us should be doing anyways.

Reading is my Super Power 

The Summer of Me is a book you can read in one sitting, but it’s a book you’ll be thinking about long after. The characters will work their way into your heart, and the story will keep you turning the pages to find out what happens next. Angela Benson has crafted an enjoyable and inspirational novel that’s perfect for your next vacation read or even just next weekend.


I found The Summer of Me to be incredibly well written, just sexy enough to keep things interesting, and full of dimensional characters I truly cared about. I recommend it for anyone who wants an easy (but still satisfying) summer read, especially children of single parents.

Thoughts on This ‘n That

This was my first introduction to Angela Benson and I found her writing style focused and pleasant. It was my first encounter with a novel including a spiritual overtone, which I found refreshing and it seemed to raise the stakes of the issues many of the characters faced. 

A Soccer Mom’s Book Blog

The Summer of Me is a great read.    There is so much going on that this could have been a couple of books, yet it wasn’t too much for one book .  .  . I recommend The Summer of Me.   It is not always a soft, easy, and pretty story but it is always a good story.      This is my first book by Angela Benson but hopefully not my last.

I’m Shelf-ish   

Being raised by a single mother, I was drawn to the description of this book right from the very beginning . .  . Following Destiny’s path throughout the book I could see visions of my own mom growing up. Never looking at all she did for us throughout that time, I was thankful to have this opportunity to see some of the dreams Destiny had and how she was going to try and make them come true while still taking care of her children. Overall a very enjoyable story.